Gianluigi Donnarumma wins the Yashin trophy

Gianluigi Donnarumma has won the Lev Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper of the year. The 22-year-old goalkeeper becomes the second winner of the award which was introduced in 2019.

Paris Saint-Germain’s Italian international was awarded the trophy on Monday 29 November at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris during the Ballon d'Or France Football ceremony.

Gianluigi Donnarumma was nominated as one of the 10 finalists for the Yashin Trophy following a vote by 180 sports journalists from 180 countries. He was the only goalkeeper named in the list of 30 finalists for the Ballon d'Or France Football.

The Italian international made a major contribution to the Azzurri's success at Euro 2021, keeping three clean sheets in the group stage and coming out on top in two penalty shoot-outs, in the semi-final against Spain and the final against England.

The Rouge & Bleu shotstopper’s outstanding performances earned him the UEFA Player of the Tournament award, something only Dino Zoff and Peter Schmeichel had achieved before him.

Just a few days after Italy’s European title, "Gigio" made his Paris Saint-Germain move official.

“Receiving the Lev Yashin Trophy is a huge honour for me," said Gianluigi Donnarumma. “I would like to thank my family and all my teammates who have contributed to the success of this exceptional year. I hope to build on this and continue to shine for Paris Saint-Germain and the Italian team.”

“We are proud to see Gianluigi win the Yashin Trophy," said Nasser Al-Khelaïfi, Chairman and CEO of Paris Saint-Germain. “Lifting this trophy at the age of 22 is an extraordinary achievement and we are sure that he will contribute greatly to the success of the Paris Saint-Germain project in the seasons to come."


Position: Goalkeeper
Date of birth: 25 February 1999
Nationality: Italian
Height: 1.96m

Yashin Trophy (2021)
UEFA Euro 2020 Player of the Tournament (2021)

Supercoppa Italiana (2016)

Italian national team
40 caps
Euro 2021

2015-2021                      AC Milan (ITA)
2021                                 Paris Saint-Germain